This website uses non-intrusive cookies to enhance your browsing experience. To find out more please read our Terms and Conditions

Twentieth annual staff awards named in memory Ian Kemp

Thursday 29th June 2017

The 20th annual North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College staff awards have seen Anna Causier, a lecturer in early years’ childcare, win the Ian Kemp tutor of the year award for 2017.  Students praised both her teaching skills and also her passion for the subject and empathy for students. 

Commenting on her award, Anna said: “I feel overwhelmed, I have never won anything like this before. I have been teaching for eleven years now, and to be valued by the students you teach in this way is incredible.  I want to thank anyone that nominated me and anyone that has enjoyed my teaching.” Ten lecturers were shortlisted for the main award after being nominated by their students. 

The runner up was Emma Carter, a lecturer in art and design, with Fiona Rollings, a lecturer in crafts, creative arts and design, coming third. In the support staff of the year category, Sian Cooper, a progress coach, was named winner.  She was nominated by her students for her dedication and passion in helping students succeed. “I am really shocked, I feel really honoured, it’s amazing,” said Sian on winning her award, “I’ve worked here a long time and always tried to do my best.  As a progress coach, I have found my feet, and believe this is the role I was meant to do.  I love working with students, you never know what is going to happen; they’re energetic, they’re lively, they’re enthusiastic, they’re really positive.  I love what I do and am so proud to get this recognition from students.”

The runner up was Lischana Lane, with Sam Ealing coming third, both are also progress coaches at the college. From this year, the tutor of the year award is being commemorated in memory of Ian Kemp, the much loved student voice coordinator, who sadly passed away in March this year.  Ian had worked at the college for almost thirty years and had been the main organiser of the staff awards for many years. 

Marion Plant OBE, Principal of the college, who presented the awards commented: “This year’s awards are bittersweet.  It is always a particular delight for me to present them as they are voted for by our students, but one of the biggest driving forces behind these awards is sadly no longer with us.  We felt it was only fitting to commemorate Ian by naming the tutor of the year award in his memory.  Ian’s dedication and enthusiasm helped several generations of students in his thirty years at the college and he was deeply passionate about these awards.  Huge congratulations to our winners and those that were nominated, you have done yourselves and our students proud.”

Print this page

Opening Hours

Term Times:
Mon & Thurs: 8.00am - 8.00pm
Tue, Wed & Fri: 8.00am - 5.00pm

Non-term Times:
Mon - Thur: 8.30am - 5.00pm
Fri: 8.30am - 4.30pm
Contact us
South Leicestershire College
Blaby Road
South Wigston
LE18 4PH

Phone: 0116 264 3535
Fax: 0116 277 5578

Accessibility Statement

North Warwickshire & Hinckley CollegeESFApprenticeshipsDisability ConfidentCareers MatrixQAA Quality assuredSkills For CareLiving Wage Foundation